pantry pick tamari

Tamari sauce is similar to soy sauce in that it is made from fermented soybeans, however tamari is a gluten free option. We don’t use any soy products unless it is in a fermented form like in soy sauce, tamari, miso, natto or tempeh. If you want to know more about why, check the Weston A. Price article about The Ploy of Soy.

How do we use it?

We use tamari to flavour stocks, stews and soups. It is also great to use in stir-fries or other Asian recipes that call for soy sauce. A splash of tamari in bone broth gravy or over veggies adds a delicious salty flavour.

Where do we buy it?

The Organic PureHarvest brand of Tamari can be found in some supermarkets. Spiral also do a beautiful Tamari that can be found at most health food stores however I don’t believe this brand is 100% gluten free.  We have also both purchased bulk supply of Tamari through our co-ops. On the Atherton Tablelands it is available in IGA, the Health Food Store and the Biodynamic Farmers Co-op.